Databases

The Irving Shapiro Library subscribes to several collections of databases that can be used to find books, journal articles, images, and other resources. Many of these databases are accessible from off-campus;

EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier

 

Coverage: 1975 to present

Full-text: Yes

Offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and ethnic studies. Provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Business Source Elite

 

Coverage: 1985 to present

Full-text: Yes

Provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications.
Regional Business News

 

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: Yes

Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
ERIC

 

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: Yes

Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Health Source–Consumer Edition

 

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: Yes

Provides information on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source–Nursing/Academic Edition

 

Coverage: 1975 to present

Full-text: Yes

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Military & Government Collection

 

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: Yes

Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, including periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Newspaper Source

 

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: Yes

Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

 

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: Yes

Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
EBSCO Animals

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: Yes

Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals, including indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
Professional Development Collection

 

Coverage: 1965 to present

Full-text: Yes

Provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.
MAS Ultra–School Edition

 

Coverage: 1975 to present

Full-text: Yes

Contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines, more than 350 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.

       

FirstSearch
Article First

Coverage: 1990 to present

Full-text: No

OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
Clase Periodica

Coverage: 1975 to present

Full-text: No

Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Ebooks

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: N/A

OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.
ECO

Coverage: 1995 to present

Full-text: No

An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.
ERIC

Coverage: 1966 to present

Full-text: Yes

Journal articles and reports in education.
GPO

Coverage: 1976 to present

Full-text: No

U.S. government publications.
Illinois Catalog

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: No

OCLC catalog of materials in Illinois libraries.
MEDLINE

Coverage: 1965 to present

Full-text: Yes

All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Papers First

Coverage: 1993 to present

Full-text: No

OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
Per Abs

Coverage: 1986 to present

Full-text: Yes

Periodical abstracts from general and academic journals.
Proceedings

Coverage: 1993 to present

Full-text: No

An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings.
Wilson Select Plus

Coverage: 1994 to present

Full-text: Yes

Full-text articles in science, humanities, education, and business.
World Almanac

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: Yes

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs.
WorldCat

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: No

OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
WorldCat Dissertations

Coverage: N/A

Full-text: No

A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.

 

CARLI Digital Collections (selected digital image collections)
Saskia Art Images Collection Contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, as well as archaeological sites.
John Wesley Powell Collection of Pueblo Pottery

(Illinois Wesleyan University)

Over 100 specimens of pottery and a few wooden and basketry objects presented to Illinois Wesleyan University in the mid-1880’s.
Swahili Expressive Arts Collection

(Illinois Wesleyan University)

Contains the work of Rebecca Gearhart, Ph.D., of the Sociology and Anthropology Department at Illinois Wesleyan University.
Ayers Art Collection

(Newberry Library)

Over 500 images of American Indian history and culture from the Library’s world-renowned Ayer Collection.
Great Lakes Collection

(Newberry Library)

Nearly 550 images of Illinois and the Great Lakes from the French period of exploration and settlement to the early 20th Century.
Pullman Digital Collection

(Newberry Library)

Images of 1,299 Pullman car drawings, ca. 1870-1969, with the bulk of the drawings created for heavyweight and lightweight cars, ca. 1906-1969.
Doc Horrell Photo Collection

(Southern Illinois University Carbondale)

Photographs made by Southern Illinois photographer C. William “Doc” Horrell documenting the region’s coal mines and those who worked in them.
Seven Settlement Houses–Database of Photos

(University of Illinois at Chicago)

In the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the settlement houses of Chicago led the nation in addressing problems of urbanization, immigration, and industrialization.
Digital Image Collection

(Western Illinois University)

Historic images from the west central Illinois region.
Harpweek
Coverage: 1857-1912

Full-text: Yes

Searchable full-text electronic version of Harper’s Weekly magazine from 1857 to 1912, including articles, illustrations, cartoons, and advertisements.